When you change the status of a request to "declined", the request is not deleted from Feedback.
Viewing Declined Requests
From a customer's point of view, the request will disappear from their dashboard and priority list. They will still be able to access declined requests, however, if they submit a similar request, have the direct url, or if they search for items similar to the declined request.
Team members will be able to view declined requests by going to "Browse", and then checking the "Declined" box on the right-hand side, or by searching for the request.
When an end user or team member submits a request, declined requests will appear in the similar requests list.
Interacting with Declined Requests
Should a customer navigate to a declined request, they will be unable to vote on it. They can, however, subscribe to and comment on the request:
Team members have the ability to comment, vote, subscribe and add customers to declined requests:
We believe it's important that end users and team members can still view declined requests. This helps to clarify why their similar idea may not be built. They might, for example, begin to submit an idea and see that a similar idea has already been declined. They would then understand why and save you from having to deal with another similar request.
Furthermore, we allow users to comment on declined requests because it's possible they have a different use case for the idea which would shine a new light on the request and make it a more viable option in future.
To sum up, when a request is declined, it disappears from the dashboard but not from Feedback entirely.