How to update a partially completed request

Sometimes you get a great request that you want to go ahead and build. Trouble is, it's a pretty big request, and the only way you can build it is to release it in stages.

If you have a request like that, and you've only released part of it, then here's how you deal with it in Feedback...

Create a New Request

The first thing you need to do is create a new request. This request should contain the parts of the original request that you haven't finished building yet.

Let's use an example. Imagine you had a request that said:

"It would be good if we could comment on features, and maybe even tag other users to mention them in comments."

Now, in this case, you've just built and released the ability to comment on features, but you're still working on the tagging part.

Your new request would focus on the tagging part of that original request.

NOTE: Don't forget that you can immediately update the status of this new request to "Planned" or "Building" depending on which stage it is at.

Release the Original Request

Next, you should set the status of the original request to "Released".

You need to write a custom response that explains what you've done. It should cover what functionality you have added to your product, much like any other "Released" status.

But, it should also explain that you're still working on the other part, and then link to the new request.

Here's an example based on the comment request above:

"We've now added the ability to comment on features. Simply scroll to the bottom of the description and you can type in your comment.

We're still working on the tagging part, and we've moved it to a new request here: #1234.

Thanks!"

NOTE: Remember you can easily link to another request by typing # followed by the request ID (found in the URL of the request).

Add Users to the New Request (Optional)

If you want, you can add the users who were interested in the original request to the new request. This way they are automatically kept up-to-date.

If you'd rather not do this, then don't worry, as your users will see the link to the new request in the status for the other one.