Manage internal users

Last updated:

This article describes how to invite internal Pendo users, and how to add or edit user roles. For information about user types and the roles available, see Roles and permissions.

Invite internal users

Only Pendo Admins can create new users by inviting them. To invite users:

  1. Go to Settings > Users, accessed from the bottom of the left-side menu.
  2. Select + Add User in the top-right corner of the page.
  3. Choose the appropriate user type: Subscription Admin or User.
  4. Enter the user details (name and email address).
  5. If choosing User Permissions, select the subscription-level permissions for sharing and editing segments and reports.
  6. If you're a Listen customer, choose the appropriate roles for the user. For information about Listen roles, see Listen permissions section in the Roles and permissions article.
  7. If choosing User Permissions, select the apps and user roles to assign the associated permissions to the user. Roles can be assigned to multiple apps at the same time to apply roles quickly. Select a single app to adjust roles for only that app. Select multiple apps to adjust roles for all them at the same time.
  8. If you're a Feedback customer, select the appropriate permission group from the dropdown menu.
  9. Select Invite User in the bottom-right of the form. Users then receive an email invitation to create an Adopt account. 

Warning: Sometimes a "no-reply" email is automatically blocked or filtered to spam. Advise your IT team to allow the no-reply email address through filters. 

Assign roles to a user

Pendo admin users can assign roles when creating a new user or editing an existing user. Admins can't edit their own roles and must instead be assisted by another admin in the subscription. This is best practice for role provisioning and prevents the only admin in a subscription from accidentally unassigning their own admin role.

Note: If a user hasn't accepted their invitation, their profile doesn't appear in the Users list.

Users for the subscription are managed in Settings > Users. Select an existing user from the Users table and then Edit User in the panel that slides out on the right. From here:

  1. Choose the user type: Subscription Admin or User.
  2. Edit the user details (name and email address) as appropriate.
  3. If choosing User Permissions, select the subscription-level permissions for sharing and editing segments and reports.
  4. If you're a Listen customer, choose the appropriate roles for the user. For information about Listen roles, see the Listen permissions section in the Roles and permissions article.
  5. If choosing User Permissions, select the apps and user roles to assign the associated permissions to the user. Roles can be assigned to multiple apps at the same time to apply roles quickly. Select a single app to adjust roles for only that app. Select multiple apps to adjust roles for all them at the same time.
  6. If you're a Feedback customer, select the appropriate permission group from the dropdown menu.
  7. Select Save Changes in the bottom-right of the form.

Remove a user

Only admin users can remove other users from a subscription. They can't remove themselves. To remove users from a subscription:

  1. Go to Settings > Users.
  2. Find and hover over the user.
  3. Select the trash icon at the end of the row.
  4. Select Remove User.

Removing a user results in the following:

  • Any guides as well as public reports and segments created by the removed user remain in Pendo, but the creator no longer has access to the subscription to view or edit them.
  • Segments and reports that were set to a visibility of Only Me by the removed user are no longer visible.
  • The removed user that created any guides, segments, and reports is still visible as the creator.
  • Reports and dashboards created by a removed user can't be edited by other users, but admin users can delete these reports and dashboards. 

If the removed user had the a Salesforce or HubSpot integration connected to their account, we recommend switching the user to another account so there isn't any interruption to your daily syncs.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful